## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

March 7, 2023

The Honorable Alexander Hoehn-Saric Chairman United States Consumer Product Safety Commission 4330 East-West Highway Bethesda, MD 20814

## Dear Chairman Hoehn-Saric:

We write to encourage the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) to work expeditiously to implement the Stop Tip-overs of Unstable, Risky Dressers on Youth, or STURDY, Act, enacted as part of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2023.

The STURDY Act is the culmination of a multi-year bipartisan and bicameral effort to protect children from death or serious injury due to furniture tip-overs. Consensus on the final text was reached through good faith negotiations among key stakeholders, including bereaved parents, consumer advocates, and industry groups.

The STURDY Act establishes criteria for a mandatory safety rule for clothing storage units (CSUs) to prevent furniture tip-overs. As part of this rulemaking, the bill directs the CPSC to consider adoption of the ASTM International voluntary standard as the final mandatory rule if the voluntary standard is sufficient to protect children up to 72 months from tip-over related death or injury. ASTM published a revised voluntary standard (ASTM 2057-23) in February 2023 in response to the STURDY requirements. This standard is supported by Parents Against Tip-overs who are the primary advocates for stronger safety standards for CSUs and the drivers of the STURDY Act. They are urging adoption of ASTM 2057-23. Thus, consistent with Congress's intent to provide protection for children and peace-of-mind for parents, we call on CPSC to use its expertise to swiftly evaluate the ASTM International voluntary standard and ensure a safe and effective rule is in place as quickly as possible to protect children from death or serious injury.

Thank you for your tireless work to implement this law and keep children safe. We look forward to supporting you in this effort.

Sincerely,

Robert P. Casey, Jr.

**United States Senator** 

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Innovation, Data, and

balander

Commerce

Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

Gus M. Bilirakis Chair

Subcommittee on Innovation,

Data, and Commerce

Amy Klobuchar
United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Thom Tillis

**United States Senator** 

Tim Kaine

**United States Senator** 

Bill Hagerty

United States Senator

Rick Scott

**United States Senator** 

John Boozman

United States Senator

cc:

Commissioner Peter Feldman Commissioner Richard Trumka, Jr.

Commissioner Mary Boyle